How safe is the first 5 days rule? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 09-27-2011, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been charting for over 2 years now, with no problems (TTA, obvi) but we've also been SUPER strict (only DTD after confirmed O).  We took advantage of the first 5 days rule for the first time this month, and I'm worrying a little.  My shortest ever cycle has been 26 days, and my earliest O was CD14 (until THIS MONTH, when it looks like it's CD 12 or 13)  My DH has "the healthiest prostate his doctor has ever seen" and I'm worrying that his super sperm are going to survive the 6-7 days (I was totally dry for a few days after we did it, so I'm being silly?) Just looking for a little reassurance  THANKS, ladies!chart.jgp

*BETH* mother of DD (8) and DS (6) along with 2 dogs, 2 cats and about 100 chickens
#2 of 10 Old 09-27-2011, 12:49 PM

By my limited understanding of NFP, the "last dry day rule" applies here - because you were dry the day you DTD and you were dry for several days following, you should be ok. I've been learning with the CTA ladies, so one of the "experts" from that thread might have a more complete answer. :-)

Keeping busy with DH partners.gif, our crazy dogdog2.gif, grad school caffix.gif, and our new baby boy who arrived in June! babyboy.gif

#3 of 10 Old 09-29-2011, 11:33 PM

I think a pregnancy is extremely unlikely in this case. Since you didn't have fertile CM on CD 5, it's next to impossible that your DH's sperm could have survived a full week; my understanding is that sperm dies pretty quickly (within a few hours?) if there isn't any fertile CM to protect it. In those cases where women have conceived with nearly week old sperm, they must have had fertile CM that allowed the sperm to survive long enough for the egg to be released.