Surprised by post-vasectomy grief - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 02-28-2012, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My husband had a vasectomy a few days ago.  We have two kids over 5, a boy and a girl.  I had my last one at 34 1/2, and soon after got a Mirena IUD, because I wasn't ready for anything permanent.  I am now 39 1/2, so I have had 5 years to say, "No I really do want a third!" I have had 5 years in which I could have experienced "baby lust" but instead I mostly felt content, with only occasional ambivalence about ending our childbearing years. My husband felt even more strongly than I did that two kids was right for our family, given our age, our energy levels, our finances, and our valuing of one-on-one time with the kids we have. But if I had said I really really wanted another, he would have gone along, and said he would have welcomed and loved that child. As the years passed, the thought of having a baby at 38, 39, and now 40 (!) seemed intimidating, especially to a couple who was on the fence anyway about adding to the family.  We are not a couple who would terminate our pregnancy if there was a problem.

When we walked into the small operating room for the procedure, I cried, but I did not try to prevent the vasectomy. I could have.  Even in the middle of it, I briefly thought about saying, "Stop! Leave one of the testicles alone!" But I did not.  Because rationally, I knew it was the right decision for us.