OPK's before your first period PP, help please - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 03-17-2012, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've never used OPKs before.  I started using them to hopefully pinpoint ovulation, but I do realize that I may not ovulate before getting my first PP period.  Baby is almost 10 mo's, I got my period back last time while still breastfeeding at 10 mo's, so I thought it might return around this time.  I find these tests frustrating though, I always get the two lines, and most days it appears the same as the control line, just slightly less (like one strip of the test line is just as dark as the control, and the rest is just slightly less dark, like you really have to look at it up close to tell).  So, I also know that the surge only happens once, so all these tests where the lines appear just about as dark, still mean a negative...but I get this result almost everyday and have been for a month now..so should I just give up and not bother?  What are the chances that I would ovulate before my first PP period?  Thanks for any tips.  

Christian SAHM & birth doula.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 03-19-2012, 09:38 PM

Location: A state whose Medicaid does not cover circumcision! :)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I havent used them, but I have heard that they are very unreliable and pretty much worthless....

Are you practicing ecological breastfeeding?  Here is an article I just came across http://kellymom.com/bf/normal/fertility/  about fertility after baby.  I am interested to know if your baby is on solids, how much you BF, etc, because I am wondering when I will be fertile again as well, DS is 4.5months, no period yet.....

#3 of 5 Old 03-23-2012, 07:50 PM
JMJ