FAM while breastfeeding - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 03-28-2012, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to FAM and just read Taking Charge of your Fertility but was a bit confused about her section on breastfeeding. It said that its difficult to do FAM while nursing if your period has come back, but didn't mention any problems for a nursing mom whose periods have returned.

DD is 7 months old now and nurses around 4-5 times a day and is waking to feed every 2-3 hours at night. My period came back 6 weeks pp despite me EBFing her, and since then have been pretty regular. I'm just wondering if nursing so frequently is going to give me abnormal temperature readings or if there's anything else to look out for?

#2 of 4 Old 05-31-2012, 09:55 AM

Sorry it took so long for me to respond.

My DD was much older when we were using FAM, but she was still nursing through the night.  I found that even not sleeping the recommended uninterrupted time AND taking my temp at different times (I didn't set an alarm) it still worked for me.

Have you had any success or what have you been doing?

#3 of 4 Old 06-02-2012, 02:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiredX2 View Post
  I found that even not sleeping the recommended uninterrupted time AND taking my temp at different times (I didn't set an alarm) it still worked for me.

I have found this too. My daughter is 11 months old. I tried temping for a little while when she was younger in hopes of catching that first post-partum ovulation, but I got bored. I did learn this in the process, though. Now I am cycling again. So now most days I do wake at some point between 5 and 6:30, and I temp then, whenever it might be. Usually she is starting to stir at this time and it takes her a bit of time to get wound up, which is long enough for the thermometer to register.