Stretchy egg white - but no ovulation? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-30-2012, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello!

I am new here and was trying to find some help from some other women who chart their cycles. I have been doing this on and off for a few years now. Currently I have been charting to avoid for about a year. I have this odd thing that happens that I wanted to see if anyone else has any insight on.

So, normally in your cycle you get to a point where your cervical mucus becomes very stretchy and egg-white like, usually a few days before ovulation. And then you have a temp rise and you know you have ovulated. 

For me it's been different since I started keeping track this time around.

I consistently have the stretchy egg-white mucus about 8 days before I even have the temp change, also accompanied by a high soft cervix. Which is weird to me, and always makes me nervous, because I get slightly unsure about when the ovulation is actually happening. I thought for sure you couldn't have a temp change until the egg starts to break down (which would have to mean it was released within the past 24 hours earlier). 

I know that I am going to have the temp rise and actually ovulate (or at least that is what I have been assuming the temp rise was indicating) because my breasts get extremely sore 3-5 days leading up to the official temperature change for me. So, I know when it's coming everytime.

But I guess I am confused about the temp rise and the cervical mucus/high soft cervix being so many days apart (at least a week or more).

So basically I am confused/curious if I am actually ovulating when I get the cervical mucus. Or if I am actually ovulating a day or so before the actually temp change. Sorry if this is TMI info for anyone.

#2 of 6 Old 06-25-2012, 05:32 PM
Administrator

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)