Teaching FAM - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 10-24-2012, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi,

I'm new to this board, but I thought you all might have some leads to help me.  I have been charting most of the time for a few years and have read a lot of books about FAM.  I really want to take a course that would prepare me to teach the fertility awareness method to other people, but I'm having a difficult time finding what I'm looking for.  Someone pointed me in the direction of http://www.justisse.ca/ , but I don't have the time of money for a two year program of study (maybe some day).  Someone else pointed me to an NFP group, but they only allow married heterosexual couples, so that rules me out.  I'd prefer a secular program, any way.  Does anyone have any leads on how to become a FAM instructor?  Thank you so much!

~BCP

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 10-25-2012, 11:57 AM

Hi Buttercup! I'm in the same boat as you. I am deeply called to become a FAM instructor myself and help spread this knowledge, but neither do I have the time and money for a 2-year course. From my research (and I've been looking for about a year), FAM courses and instructors are quite difficult to find. I know of one or two FAM instructors who have started an official certification course (Sarah Bly of Ashland, for one), but those programs are also 2 years and cost about $4000. I have met some instructors who have become certified in other ways -- small clinics scattered here and there that offered a course years ago, but all my searches for current classes turn up empty. It's like you have to be in the right place at the right time. There are also regular certification courses for the sympto-thermal method in Great Britain. If I had the money for airfare...