Help with basic NFP information - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 05-24-2004, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
I didn't see a stickie about this on this forum, so I was wondering if someone knows a Web site that outlines all of the different systems? I am new to this, but would like to try it. I need to do a lot of research first due to a couple of complicating factors I outline below. If you have any experience with these and NFP, I would be grateful for advice!

One is being very fertile - took 10 days after going off the Pill to get PG with DD1 and about 2 months of "not trying/not not trying" with DD2. I'm nervous about the effectiveness of NFP, although I know people who have used it successfully. Which methods are most effective, or does it depend on your vigilance in applying the methods?

Another is that I am still BF my 11 month old DD2, so am not taking the Pill, but I get extremely bad cramps (out of commission for at least 1-2 days per month) that have only been controlled in the past by the Pill and prescription pain medication. I am now loathe to take it again because last time I did, I felt completely psycho. I used to be OK with it, but after DD1 my hormonal balance must have changed because I didn't tolerate it well anymore. I worry that with NFP I will have to deal with this kind of pain again.

Any advice or information is appreciated!

Mom "D" to DD1 "Z" (15) and DD2 "I" (11) DH "M"

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 05-25-2004, 01:40 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I haven't looked for a site comparing the methods, but I chose Billings after some research. I knew that I did not want to have to take my temperature daily or look for cervical mucus. Billings is 99.9% effective.