ovualtion without temp spike? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 06-25-2005, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, one my professors (sociology) told me that NFP is not really safe because it is possible to ovulate without a temp spike. She claims to know ppl who've gotten pregnant this way.
Has anyone heard this? Is there any evidence out there to this effect? I've been charting for 8 months, and I've had 4 temp rises, but many fertile patches. Am I not as safe as I thought? I'm ok with it, if so, but I have my doubts.
#2 of 9 Old 07-01-2005, 01:41 AM

Hmm, I know people who have a slow rise so the actual day of ovulation is a little tougher for them to distinguish, but their temp still goes up eventually. I'd like to hear from other people about this...

In your case it sounds like you are just not ovulating regularly. It's possible to have fertile patches that do not result in ovulation--especially if you are nursing, postpartum, stressed, travelling, sick, etc. Your body has to create enough hormone to reach a threshold level to release the egg. As the hormones build up you start to see signs of fertility, but many things can interfere with this process and stop it before the egg is released. When that happens your body tries again later. I've always heard that the only way to definitively know you ovulated was to see the temp rise.
#3 of 9 Old 07-03-2005, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter

Ok, that's what I've read too. I am stressed and we get sick frequently. I've gotten to the point that I can predict when I'm going to get sick by watching my chart. I've even noticed a difference in my periods when I've ovulated and when I haven't.
#4 of 9 Old 07-03-2005, 09:39 PM

It makes sense that your period should be different if you O or not. Seems like if you O then the lining of the uterus would get thicker so the period would be heavier than if you didn't O. Is that what you notice?