NFP while BFing??? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 06-30-2005, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Okay, I'm new to NFP so I need to read up...don't hate me if I ask stupid questions. I just had Dc#3 (a surprise) and although I wouldn't change a thing, I would like to avoid another one! I'm planning on long term Bfing and of cours that throws off "normal" signs of fertility. I cannot take any hormonal birth control, although I am going to try the progesterone only pill (is that right?) when I go back for my 6 week check up. I don't expect it to work, so I thought I'd post here to have this plan in place too.

Well 2 of the kids are crying...like I'll eveer have time to get pg again anyway!

Mandy, Jesus loving, homebirthing, cloth diapering, baby wearing, breastfeeding, non-vaxing, food growing, homeschooling, hippy mama of 4.
#2 of 4 Old 07-14-2005, 04:13 PM

for the first six months, if you dont' get your period, there is only a 1% chance of getting pregnant, which is a lot better odds than the typical use on the pill. After that i think it goes up to a 6% chance but if you use the fertility awarness method you can bring it back down. its just really annoying to use while breastfeeding because yoru body tries to ovulate and shows signs of being fertile and then doens't ovulate. so you have a lot of days that look fertile so you can't have sex but end up being nothing @@
#3 of 4 Old 07-20-2005, 11:44 PM

Don't forget the numbers only apply if you are ecologically breastfeeding. The phase I standards for ecological breastfeeding are:
1. Do exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of life; don't use other liquids and solids.
2. Pacify your baby at your breasts.
3. Don't use bottles & pacifiers.
4. Sleep with your baby for night feedings.
5. Sleep with your baby for a daily-nap feeding.
6. Nurse frequently day and night, and avoid schedules.