why is my cycle so long? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 08-28-2007, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my cycle is 37 days long- what's up with that? I've been charting for the last 6 months and I've really learned a lot but I've found that I'm not ovulating until day 22 or so. could this be due to a lack of a certain hormone not building up enough to prompt ovulation? Are there any herbs or minerals/suppliments out there to help with that? I am not sure if I want to take the heavy duty stuff that the midwives are going to prescribe. Anyone have any experience with a similar situation? Thanks in advance.
#2 of 8 Old 08-28-2007, 02:52 PM

I always had long cycles. (still waiting for my first PPAF right now - DS is 15 months old and no sign of it yet). Things to consider:
1. Are you underweight? (I tend to be low)
2. Getting a lot of exercise?
3. Still breastfeeding?

When I was TTC with DS I took vitex (chasteberry) and drank a lot of green tea. I think both of these helped me ovulate earlier and have better CM. Certainly can't hurt. I also tried putting on an extra couple lbs (brought 2 sandwiches for lunch every day instead of 1) although I ended up getting pregnant before I had gained more than a pound or two.... I'm currently taking vitex to see if I can coax my body back into a fertile pattern but it hasnt' happened yet. Judging from what I've seen posted here, taking up to 1200 mg/day may be helpful.

Mom to James (ribboncesarean.gif 5/2006), Claire (vbac.gif 6/2008), furry kitties Calvin and Bob, and wife to Dennis. 

#3 of 8 Old 08-28-2007, 03:07 PM

I have long cycles. I have been off birth control since January. It needn't be a sickness or anything, some women just have long cycles. Since you know you ovulate and you even know when, meaning you're regular, I don't think you have to worry. You could always ask a midwife/doctor, of course, but be assured you're not the only one.

hh2.gif