please help with finances - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 01-15-2009, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I am starting to work as an kids outdoor club facilitator. Right now I am working as an independent contractor, then hope to franchise. Here is my problem. I SUCK at finances and my husband takes care of most of our personal stuff. But I don't think it would be in our marriages best interest to have him do my business financial stuff. (we fight over the money issues on occasion-he is much more responsible than me and expects that I will be able to handle the finacial world as well as he does even though he is a mortgage banker and i am a teacher and mom)

ANYWAY-- Where do I start? my own business account? microsoft office? I will have $$ coming in from tuition and then expenses out for materials and possibly rent. Then there are taxes- oy... Help mamas, I don't want to let myself down or let my dh down...

ANY advice for start up business account much appreciated!!
#2 of 3 Old 01-16-2009, 06:42 AM

Since your husband is already a banker, is it possible that he could sit down with you and explain the different business accounts available? Also, for a business, I would look into getting a program like Quickbooks to help keep track of your finances. Maybe you could get him or a friend to help you get accustomed to the software as well.

Married to DH since February 2005, mother of selectivevax.gifdelayedvax.gifDS (8/18/2008) and DD in (4/2/2011)!  lactivist.gif familybed2.gif  Expecting stork-suprise.gif February 2013!

#3 of 3 Old 01-18-2009, 05:15 PM