A question (or two!) for authors - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 03-10-2010, 12:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hi all,

i have a couple book ideas, one is a science curriculum for young kids, adn two ideas for non-fiction science books for young readers. i can write them, and i even feel okay possibly self-publishing, but here are my questions:

i can't draw to save my life, how do i find an illustrator?

when i find one, do i give them some rough ideas of how i want the pictures to look? i have some ideas in my mind, but i know that i can't do that part.

if i did want to publish through an official publishing house, how do i find an agent? how d i get my stuff looked at by the publishing houses?

thanks! i am sure i will think of more just sitting here.
thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 03-15-2010, 03:02 PM

I am a self-published author of one book with another one in the works. If you are willing to do the leg work necessary to market your book (and usually any traditional publisher will leave it up the author to do their own marketing anyway) you will be able to make much more money self-publishing. The expense for the preparation of the book usually also falls to the writer, so you will likely be responsible for illustrations regardless of how you publish. I do indexing as well, and I know that many authors are now responsible for the creation of their own index. Publishing is changing!