Do you feel pressure on Etsy? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 07-28-2010, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello all!

I recently had an AHA! moment when I realized that it could be fun to put some of my thrift store finds on Etsy. (Yes, I know. So original!) At first I was just thinking of putting all my vintage (mid-century) kid books on...but then I was thinking it would be fun to make it a kid/baby/wedding/book type thing.

I'm a writer by trade and used to blog professionally (and had a pretty good following) so doing blogging/twitter is just second nature to me.

So I started a little blog (fictional) put on by the "character" who runs my shop. Her name is Joan Cleaver. She's pretty funny. (She's also on Twitter.)

Anyway, between that and Etsy...I feel like I'm always being pressured on Etsy. There's SO MUCH competition and I feel like I'm always thinking/worrying/wondering about what I need to do.

You know...you're "supposed" to add a new product every day unless you want to be banished to page 200?

I love Etsy. Really do. I enjoy shopping there. But I'm not so sure on selling. I am considering doing my own website where I could have the blog plus sell my items on there, as well. I feel there'd be a little less pressure for me to "oh my gosh I've got to get something up now!" than I do now.

(I also homeschool and am crazy busy with that!)

Has anyone ever done something like this as an alternative to Etsy? Would you tell me about your experience?

Welcome to the Real World she said to me, condescendingly, take a seat. Take your life; plot it out in black and white.
#2 of 10 Old 07-29-2010, 10:54 AM
Banned