Mothering Forum banner

I am just so "done" with child care.

2K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  just_lily 
#1 ·
Excuse me while I vent for a minute to people who understand.

I have been doing home childcare for two years and I am just done. So done. My emotional energy reserves are completely gone.

I have a 2yo DD of my own. I have a 1yo boy, 2yo girl, 3yo girl, and 4yo boy five days a week, 10+ hours a day. I have another 4yo girl one week on, two weeks off as per her parents' custody arrangement.

I am an introvert (albeit a very social one) so being "on" for 10 hours a day is very draining. The noise is overwhelming.

Having the kids here all the time feels very invasive. They are into everything. We have a very childproofed area, but if we leave something out, anything at all - one of DD's personal toys, a book, a piece of mail, garbage, anything - they are on it like ants. It feels like I am under siege, and I have to hide everything in my bedroom or the kitchen (which is blocked off). As a result both places are cluttered and out of control.

They are very hard on the house. Most recently the screens in both our front and back door have been completely ruined by kids sticking their hands through it. I am always asking them to stop jumping on my furniture. All of our kids books are destroyed.

It can be very mind numbing. Yes, we try to fill our day with fun things, but I spend a lot of the time asking the same kids to do/not do the same things all day long. Don't jump on the furniture. Don't hit your friend. Don't stand on the toys.

I am tired of putting my own needs last. I never get to go pee right when I need to go. I am tired of being beat up by 1yos.