Talk to me about Blogging... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 11-24-2010, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Mods, is this in the right place? Feel free to move.

So the suggestion continues to be made that I should start a blog. I don't currently read many blogs. I do love to write and get published locally. So tell me, why do you blog? What do you enjoy about it? And where is the best place to do so? Thanks in advance for your thoughts!!

namaste.gif WAHSM to Ani (7) and Juddah (18mo.)

homebirth.jpggoorganic.jpgintactivist.gifwave.giflactivist.gif

#2 of 10 Old 11-25-2010, 06:07 AM

I've been blogging on and off for a couple of years now.  I blog because I like to share pictures with people.

You might want to read some blogs to see different styles.  Some just have writing, some just have photos, I know of one that is just haikus.  Personally I only read blogs that are heavy on photos with minimal writing and no music.

I like blogger because it's easy to use and I can personalize it however I want.  I've tried wordpress but I can't seem to get the download to work on my mac and the online version isn't very good.

You have to blog frequently to keep readers.  To get readers, comment on other people's blogs or join a blog surfing program like blogexplosion.

My blog is here if you want to check it out.  I started that blog at the end of July and I've had a little over 4000 visits.

#3 of 10 Old 11-27-2010, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the info limette! Lot's of research  to do!

namaste.gif WAHSM to Ani (7) and Juddah (18mo.)

homebirth.jpggoorganic.jpgintactivist.gifwave.giflactivist.gif

#4 of 10 Old 01-08-2011, 08:11 AM

whats wonderful about blogs is that it can be about ANYTHING its like, you dont have to rely on someone to give you "space" for an article, or an approval for the story, you just do it your own way.