Good books on starting/running a small business - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 02-08-2011, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

In the next year or so I want to start up a photography business, for real (I've been doing work for the past 3 years, mostly unpaid). I've been scared to take the next step - I guess I've let the fear of the "what ifs" and responsibility of running a business stop me. So, I want to start doing my research and learning about running a small business. It's time to conquer by educating myself. :)

Any one know of any particularly good books on the subject? Or books you found insightful/helpful with regaurds to your start up.  

Thanks!   

I've got three monkeys jumping on the bed!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 02-17-2011, 08:11 AM

Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)

Never found any good books.  Contact local SBDC - they have cheap intro seminars.

DS1 2004 ~ DS2 2005 ~ DD1 2008 ~ DS3 2010 ~ DD2 born at 31 weeks Oct. 2014
#3 of 4 Old 02-18-2011, 06:17 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)

The Handmade Marketplace was a really good book....it won't be exactly applicable because it focuses on starting a small craft business but she does talk about things like registering a business, paying taxes, advertising on the internet, blogging, etc.  so some of it might be useful, but a lot of it probably wouldn't apply

Loving wife to DH and buddamomimg1.pngmama to DD (11/08) and DS (2/12)

#4 of 4 Old 02-18-2011, 06:28 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)