I know, I know, I need some wheels for my cross... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 01-19-2012, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is a rant.  It is only a rant.  If this were a true bitter testament to how uncooperative my family was, and how thoroughly they were trying to sabotage me, you would be given instructions on how to talk me down from my maniacal rage, put down that third glass of shiraz, and take my incontinence medication.

But that won't be necessary, because all I need to do is blow off steam. 

So I get the perfect at-home job a couple months ago.  It's great because it has nothing to do with my "field," the one I worked in for 11 years before having kids, the one I have a master's degree and a license to practice and a long list of continuing education credits in order to do.  No, this new job involves online research on a completely dry subject (commercial real estate appraisals), a little writing, and a few esoteric web sites on which I can access information that only a handful of people on the planet give a shit about.  It's wonderful.  And it pays almost as much as I would make working in "my" field, yet I don't have to buy malpractice insurance or supervision hours.  Problem is, it does take a little time - surprise!  I have a 6-yr-old who goes to Kindergarten, and I have a 2-yr-old who stays at home with me, other than hanging out with her babysitter 6 hrs a week.  I have a husband who works a whole lot, to keep us paying the bills, so like many SAHM's  I do everything related to running the household - paying the bills and keeping the books, taxes, child care, all school-related duties and functions, calling the repairman, doctor, dentist, gymnastics, play dates, birthday presents, you know the drill.  Having this job changes none of that.  But we really need this, as a family, and I desperately need to make it work.