Starting off.... a home bakery business - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 10-20-2012, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Has anyone successfully done this, or is doing this?

What do you need to get started?

Is it financially viable?

I am thinking about doing this from my home, allowing me to be at home with my kids, AND to make money, doing something that I love to do and am good at. ( I am a classically trained chef/pastry chef )

I am thinking about starting off with simple items : cookies, bar cookies muffins etc, nothing fancy.

Could I sell to farms/ cafes etc in my immediate area?

Or shoud I just focus on hand delivering / shipping to private homes ?

The holiday season is fast approaching, most are too busy to make their own treats. I would love to be ableto offer that service for busy households.

I would love some feedback.

Me and Dh partners.gif, Dd1bouncy.gif  Dd2dust.gif,Ds1joy.gif, 2flowerkitty.gif, 2hamster.jpgand lots of goldfish.gif

#2 of 9 Old 10-20-2012, 07:12 PM

I haven't started a business so I'm going to give you my first impression from the perspective of a customer. When I was working fulltime, I would have loved something like this! I worked 50 hours a week and was just too tired to bake even though I love to. I couldn't imagine working fultime, with DD, during the holidays and then be asked to bake for a Christmas party, so if I could buy sweets from a professional that tasted homemade, I would have been all over it! Especially for family parties where all the other women stay home with kids or work at home half the time, mine and DH's Microsoft careers were often judged.

So there's your marketing strategy. wink1.gif Families with working parents and holiday parties.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2

DD Seraphina born at home on 2/21/2012! 

"Childbirth is more admirable than conquest, more amazing than self-defense, and as courageous as either one."