Leaving public school and starting my own classroom.. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 07-01-2013, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello WAHM's {can't help but think of George Michael when I see that acronym..}

I am a longtime school teacher {10+ years!} with both a private and public school background.  My strengths and desires as an educator and mentor have come more to light with every year of experience..  I am finally finding that my "element" {to use the Ken Robinson term} is working with "strange" kidsROTFLMAO.gifThat is, highly creative, pioneer/path forgers, super smart kiddos {which I believe they all are in some way} who need validation, creative, independent thought, and safe space to explore their own intelligences to reach a goal.  

Yes, that was me as a kid too.  The weirdo for sure, but with so much inside that schools did not tap into.. It was outside in independent creative classes that I found myself.  

Now I have the opportunity to provide that for other young people, in my home.  I have the space, have a lil money to advertise, can spend this summer setting up.  I am a confident, strong and highly independent person and teacher, in many ways this set up will work better for me... except..  I'm scared to death to take this large leap.  What am I crazy!!?  To give up a good-paying job and bennies to do this?  With an unsure erratic income at first?  Surely we will starve!  I also feel the pressure of, this is not just me, it is my children brought along on this ride.  

I have a dear fiance who will be moving in with us, after 3 years of being together, sometime this late fall, and he is well-employed.  Also, my child support covers my mortgage.  We have 3 kids living at home {and 5 total} that I would be fully available to and they are all older.  My inner artiste says Go For It..

But still, the fear.  Would love to hear your stories~

#2 of 2 Old 07-01-2013, 08:58 AM