Mothering Forum banner

Freelance = Feast or Famine?

Tags
wahm
2K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  joybundle 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I have been doing freelance work for about 10 years. Overall I have done okay with it - especially when I had really little kids. Now everybody is in school and I am getting a bit worn out on the "feast or famine" nature of it.

Last year - I was slammed during summer vacation, the week before Christmas and Spring Break and had tons of weeks when the kids were in school and I had nothing.

Lately I have had no work and now it looks like I am going to be pressed into 70 plus hour work weeks. I am totally stressing about what is coming while I actually have nothing to do right now. Does anyone else have this sort of work cyce and how do you deal with it? (Both emotionally and financially)

#2 ·
I have been freelancing for about 12 years now. My schedule is steadier that than, but I'm in the work crush mode right now. Emotionally it is tough - I am stressed a lot and worry a lot. Do you read Lifehacker? I sometimes come across good tips there. These two have helped me:

http://lifehacker.com/a-3-step-alternative-to-a-machine-like-workday-1465085719

http://lifehacker.com/how-long-to-nap-for-the-biggest-brain-benefits-1251546669 (Yes, I frequently nap during the day!)

In the purely practical sense, even though you don't have work right now, but could you prep other stuff in anticipation of the work soon to come? Cook up some meals to put in the freezer, arrange some extra childcare for that time (I take your kids after school this week when I'm off; you take mine next week when I'm swamped), have coffee/lunch with a friend that you will not have time to do later, set up paperwork/bills, so you don't have to worry about it in the middle of the crush, etc.