Mothering Forum banner

Need advice stat!

Tags
due date work
1K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  sawyer87 
#1 ·
Hey everyone!

I hope all is well :)

So I am going to be a first time dad here around June 11th and I wanted some honest opinions from all you moms and dads.

I am a self employed photographer and after moving this past year, it's been hard finding new clients. I was recently contacted by a company to be the photographer on several big projects for products they're launching soon. The issue is, they want me to travel overseas for a up to 10 days at, initially leaving 4 days after the due date.

Normally, I wouldn't even question it, especially being a first time dad. But with this being such a huge project, it could change our family's life for the better.

There will also be more trips across the world throughout the year.

In your personally opinion, would you take the opportunity with the hopes of something bigger coming from it for your family, or do you turn it down in case the baby comes late or he or my wife have complications? It's a once in a lifetime job opportunity, but at the same time, so is the birth of your first child.

Im so on the fence and lost and could really use your help

Thanks in advance!

See less See more
#2 ·
I'd be inclined to say no, although it depends. Does your wife have some close friends, siblings, mother, etc. who she's really super close with and would be there to provide support? It would have to be someone as committed to her and that she's as comfortable with as you. I know I have one friend that I almost would have preferred to have with me over my DH :kissing_closed_eyes:. If she has that level of support, then maybe.