I work 20- 30 hrs a week 18 100.00%
I work more than 30 hrs a week 17 100.00%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 37 Old 09-29-2002, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What do you do? How many hours a week? Do you like it? Want more or less?

I am thinking about starting my own business. My two ideas are making toys (with dh making lots of wooden toys) or a science class for preschools/daycares (I go to the school and do an experament, show pictures, and bring animals.)

Just wondering what everyone else is doing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 37 Old 09-29-2002, 07:34 PM

I went first, but my work is much more boring than your ideas. I'm a medical editor, and I've worked out of my home for years (can't stand office politics). It was a bonus, though, when DD came along, because I have been able to adjust my hours to her needs.

This year, I'll be working about 20 hours a week, i guess. (she's in half-day kindergarten)
#3 of 37 Old 09-29-2002, 11:49 PM

I'm a computer programmer. I work with health care insurance data. The people I work with tell me what sort of reports they want and I do the extraction and number-crunching and send it back to them. Once in a while, I'm 'set loose' to build a model based on dollars but really that seems like too much free-thinking for me these days. I'm content to push the data around right now and let others do the real analysis. I think if I ever go back to school I would like to be a social demographer and spend all my time building cool statistical/behavioral models.