I'm thinking about becoming a Real Estate Agent... - Mothering Forums
Work from Home Parents > I'm thinking about becoming a Real Estate Agent...
amyandelle's Avatar amyandelle 05:20 PM 06-30-2005
Does anyone here have any experiance with selling real estate? I am wondering about the hours and income potential as well as whre I can take classes to get a licence. From what I have read it sounds really flexible and the income potential sounds really good too!! Before I had Elle I was a restaurant manager but I don't want to go back to working full time so right now I am waiting tables and we are just barely getting by. I am so tired of being broke all the time KWIM?
Any info would be so much appreciated!!!
Thanks,
Amy

momto l&a's Avatar momto l&a 06:43 PM 06-30-2005
It supposidly is flexable but its not really as people want to see property and they want to see it NOW. If you have them wait they will go somewhere else.

Its takes a lot of work and time to become successful at selling.

Real Estate is a full time+ job.

My mom was an agent, she took what classes she could at home then had to spend a number of weeks 5 hours away for the other classes.

It is a fun job seeing all these houses and property and meeting all sorts of people. But some people youll wish wouldnt have never met or had to deal with.

The hours stink IMO they range from earliy morning to late night weekends, and anyother time. You dont want to put people off becaus ethey may be a possible sale.

Sorry to sound like such a downer but IMO it not a good job for a mom with young ones at home. I mean I was a young adult living at home and didnt see mom all that much.
Starr's Avatar Starr 06:48 PM 06-30-2005