A job idea I have - your input wanted - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 12-05-2006, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am trying to come up with a job for myself that I can do from home, and have an idea that I want to pass by you guys. I am a project manager, so my idea would work really well.

The idea is to new "new mommy" maintenance.

I remember how crazy it was those first three months, and even 6 months, when I didn't clip my nails, get a hair cut, or any of the routine maintenance that one does. It was hard to even get a shower every day. It still is!

I was thinking about setting up a service where for a monthly fee, I would help new moms get these things done. Making hair appointments, arranging for cleaners to come in, setting up grocery shopping and making sure snacks well-stocked, going out to get baby items or running other annoying but necessary items, etc.

What do you think? What kind of things did you need help getting done?

What would I call it? the mama doula? An Afterwife? Something funny or up-beat.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 21 Old 12-05-2006, 10:45 PM
J2

Post-partum doula - which does exist. Lactation help would be included in that.
#3 of 21 Old 12-05-2006, 10:53 PM - Thread Starter

Well, a postpartum doula is more holistic and nurturing to the entire family. A bit different than what I am thinking. I am talking about practical stuff. Setting appointments, running emergency errands, etc. Totally mom focused.
#4 of 21 Old 12-05-2006, 10:54 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I'd call it "Mothering the Mother".
#5 of 21 Old 12-05-2006, 11:52 PM