Intro thread - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 68 Old 07-13-2003, 02:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well, I think everyone's expecting diapering WAHMs in here. I'm not, but I *am* a WAHM ... I'll start ~

I'm a WAHM writer/editor and website admin, with a nine-year-old and a two-year-old. I've done everything from flex/full-time/telecommuting to straight SAHM with children. I must say, I am *not* happy as a "real" working mom. The occasional project brings in nice financial padding, though. The website work (attachment parenting site for my local area) is what's really important to me. It's unpaid, of course, and something I do in little dribbles every day, inch by inch -- but I'm passionate about it, a lifesaver in helping me keep my sanity and personal perspective! ag

I tried keeping some after-schoolers last year for extra money, and that wasn't my thing at all and it was horridly disruptive to the family schedule. Now I only take projects that I can handle during naptimes and after bedtime. Not a lot of money, but much happier mama. : ... Oh, and I don't solicit work anymore. I just do the occasional job that rolls across my plate through referrals. I also edit for DH, who's also a writer. I have less control of my time on his projects because he is often on tight deadlines, but I love the collaborative effort.

It's only recently that I "realized" that I'm a WAHM of sorts again, rather than strictly a SAHM. I guess I still maintain a SAHM self-identity, since I work so little and uncompromisingly make it bend around my family life.

... Looking forward to chatting with everyone!
#2 of 68 Old 07-13-2003, 02:20 AM

Mamaste- it is about time I asked this - what is your name???????
:LOL

I am Sandi - I am a freelance writer who has been officially out of work for three years! LOL! I haven't had much motivation lately. :