Starting a cafe to go with a martial arts business... input? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-14-2003, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So good to be back at mdc. last few months have been SO exhausting, I hope things are finally settling down. (warning: this post is long )

I am about to start WOH part-time. Then hopefully switch over to more of a WAH position over time. This is where I need help, inspiration, advice, etc

My dh has a martial arts academy - it's a Brazilian martial art that combines music, acrobatics, etc, etc - really different. We're trying to grow it and planning on moving into a bigger place in a better location starting next June. I am currently WOH full time and not really enjoying it (ok, really not enjoying it ) My background is in finance, and so I started out thinking that if I can find something outside of the corporate world - like a small business - that I can run out of the house, then I will be much more fulfilled and will spend more time with my family.

Then a while back, granolamom was talking about her cafe, and reading through all the name suggestions, etc., I thought: "CAFE!" What I am thinking right now is a healthy cafe - sandwiches, smoothies, wraps, etc. This seems to be such a great combination for me: I can run this business, (don't want to actually work there) we can have it next door to the academy (so dh's students can eat there and hopefully we'll recruit some students from the people coming to the cafe) Ever since I got pg with dd, I have completely changed my outlook on food - I don't think I knew what "organic" meant before I got pg :LOL

So I would like to have all-organic, just not sure how the cost/benefit is going to work. I will at least try to have some organic, and as much local I can.