I need to learn how to ORGANIZE! Help! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 07-15-2003, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have many, many jobs going on. I am freelance goddess these days--I need some organizational tricks.

How do your organize your office space?

What are the most essential office-organizing items you have?

Tell me about your filing systems.

Anything else?

I am a photographer, I am starting a theatre conservatory in Sept. and I also work for Mothering (ad sales). Three very distinct jobs and somehow I have to blend my space to meet those needs. I am willing to spend some $$ to get organized.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 07-15-2003, 11:46 AM

Just two words for you: Julie Morgenstern.

Her books on organizing are fantastic. They will be especially helpful for you since you wear so many hats. Get her book, "Organizing from the Inside Out." That's the one that got me organized, and I was a very unorganized person before.

good luck!
#3 of 5 Old 07-15-2003, 08:28 PM

Here are just a few ideas:
Get some of those Serilite boxes that have 3 trays in them to put on top of your desk (they are stackable if you need more trays).

I would also suggest different file drawers for each of your seprate activities. Use manilla files for everything, and organize w/ hanging files. At the end of the year I make new manilla files, and put last years stuff in one of those white storage boxes to keep on file.

A cork board is a great idea. Mark off 3 distinct areas, make them different colors, or divide w/ ribbon, ect. so that you can post important things where you can clearly see them at a glance.