Approaching local stores to sell my product? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 12-12-2007, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
A couple of weeks ago I got an idea for a children's product that I could make and sell. It's really pretty basic but I ran it by a few friends and everyone thought it was great!

So...I ordered supplies and got to work. Now I'm almost done and ready to shop it around locally. I've made a list of stores that I think are the right demographic and I think I have a really nice, well-priced product to offer them so I'm excited. But I've never done anything like this before.

Do I just walk in with my stuff and see if they are interested? Do I call and make an appointment? Send a sample?

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

~Erin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 12-12-2007, 05:14 PM

Before you do anything, I would get a poor man's copyright on it...then, I just go into stores and send out e-mails with pics.

Victim of Birth Rape & Coerced ribboncesarean.gifUnnecesareanribboncesarean.gif What makes people think they can cut up someone else's genitals? nocirc.gif
#3 of 15 Old 12-12-2007, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks. Off to google "poor man's copyright"
#4 of 15 Old 12-12-2007, 06:19 PM

sorry...just put one in a box or envelope and seal it. Mail it to yourself. Do not open it. This gives you a date (postmark) and proves when ypu 'invented it in case anyone tries to copy it.

Victim of Birth Rape & Coerced ribboncesarean.gifUnnecesareanribboncesarean.gif What makes people think they can cut up someone else's genitals? nocirc.gif
#5 of 15 Old 12-12-2007, 06:24 PM