Need advice in opening new preschool in Pasadena, Ca - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 02-12-2008, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This has been a dream of mine for years. Ever since I was pregnant with my first child, I have been looking for a whole child focused child care, with low ratios, healthy food, and somewhere that doesn't stick annoying kids into time outs. I couldn't find it, so we decided to open our own child care center. While I know a bit about child care, development, and education- I have a Master's in child development and psychology, I don't know anything about advertising. Like minded parents absolutely LOVE our program, but people just shopping programs are luke warm. That is fine with me, I want parents who value our philosophy and childcare practices. My problem is, I don't know how to reach those parents.

Any advice?
#2 of 9 Old 02-12-2008, 06:11 PM

The school my son goes to is a lot like you describe ;-) and we're loving it. I first heard about it on the atwatervillage.org forums, because the director posted that she was starting a preschool program.

I don't know if Pasadena has neighborhood councils like Los Angeles does, but is there a community web forum that people go to that might be good? Can you post flyers at baby botiques and such (is there something like The Pump Station in the Pasadena area)? Are there community events you can participate in, like setting up a booth with a craft activity for kids to drop in on and literature about your program? Can parents in the program refer easily (do you have brochures for them to pass along, for example)?
#3 of 9 Old 02-12-2008, 06:19 PM

Ok, I tried to edit my post to add this, but the board is being mean to me, so I'll make a new post: