Do you have/are you getting life insurance? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-25-2009, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My DH has a great life insurance policy through the military, but I've never thought about it. I don't contribute huge amounts to our income, but it is some...and if I were to die, I guess there would be costs to that, eh? I know my parents had/maybe still have a small policy on me, since up until a year ago I was a full time student and they were helping support me.

SO, now that you have a baby to think about, are you getting life insurance? Did you already have it? If so, what's a good amount to get? What does it usually cost per month?

Single mama to S ~ 6/09

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2009, 11:37 AM

Well I got one because we travel alot and you never know. If something were to happen, I would never want my child to ever have to worry about paying for his education, or living expenses or care, so I went quite high with the pay out.
You can contact several companies and they will come to your home and give you a quote. Alot of types of policies will depend where you live. I picked up something called "term insurance" which is for 20 years and nothing changes, not the rates nor does it effect the policy if I become ill.
It's free to investigate so go for it.

Mama to one very active DS (5.5) Loving wife to my wonderful DH and our baby girl arrived on December 10, 2009
Old 02-25-2009, 11:51 AM

Definitely get one when you have a family. Should something happens to you or dh or both, you know that your children are taken care off. The rate depends on so many factors, your health, age, gender, term of policy, amount to be covered, etc.

Even if you have a policy through work, I recommend getting one independently. The policy through work is void once you are no longer with the company, not sure how the military works though. Call them to get the details.