No water for 12 hours before 3 hour glucose screen? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 03-09-2009, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is it normal procedure for OB's to not only make you fast for 12 hours before the 3 hour glucose screen, but to also deny any water at all?

I am just having a hard time wrapping my mind around this. I have spoken with the nurse...three times, and got the same answer every time: NO WATER AT ALL from midnite until the test is completed the next day. This means I will have to go about 12 hours with no water?

This just seems wrong.

Am I just being difficult?
#2 of 15 Old 03-09-2009, 08:15 PM

I couldn't remember from the times I have done it myself, so I looked online and all the references I saw said you could drink water during the test... like during the three hours... I can't imagine they are right... granted, I am not a doctor, but that doesn't seem right.

Parenting four little monkeys (11, 8, 6, and 4) with the love of my life. Making it up as I go.
#3 of 15 Old 03-09-2009, 08:16 PM

No, you're not being difficult.

A - Dehydration can screw with your test results.
B - Asking a pregnant woman to go 12 hours without any sort of hydration is foolhardy and irresponsible.

My textbooks indicate the the GTT is typically done after a 12 hour water only fast.

Cristeen ~ Always remembering our stillheart.gif  warrior ~ Our rainbow1284.gif  is 3, how'd that happen?!?! 

We welcomed another rainbow1284.gifstillheart.gif  warrior in May 2012!! 

2012 Decluttering challenge - 575/2012

#4 of 15 Old 03-09-2009, 08:21 PM

Yeah, I have iffy veins so my OB's office encouraged me to drink LOTS of water before I came in

Kas (24), Helpmeet to Stefan (25), Mom to Franklin Gaudelio 4/15/09, Jonathan Boswell 1/2/11
#5 of 15 Old 03-09-2009, 08:27 PM

My handout from OB doesn't say no water. I drank a ton of water during the test and before. Maybe call the lab and ask them.