Blue veins on breasts? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-02-2004, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have never had blue veins on my breasts before but on Monday they showed up and have gotten more since then. They are very visible and I've never had them before (this is verified by DH). I can't get to the doctor until Monday because they are closed, I know I need to go. But I am just wondering what else besides pregnancy could cause this? I can't think of anything. I am still nursing but not engorged in any way, I can't see how this is related to nursing at all as I have been nursing for 14 months and have never had this. I hope you can tell me something that could cause this as I know I am not pregnant but don't understand why I am getting pregnancy signs. Thanks!

Shawna, married to Michael, mommy to Elijah 1/18/01, Olivia 11/9/02, and Eliana 1/22/06
#2 of 6 Old 01-02-2004, 12:47 PM

Your body changes a lot during pregnancy and while you are nursing. Your body can look a lot different right before you get your first PPAF. This last time, I could feel mine coming for almost two months. I was taking a pregnancy test every week because I felt so pregnant. I knew I wasn't, but my body sure fooled me. I felt bloated, irritable, a little queasy, tired, and crampy. My boobs got bigger.

Is it possible that you are seeing so many changes, in part, because you are looking so hard? Many women notice prominent veins on their breasts right before they get their period. The premenstrual period seems to be longer for women who are nursing. This could just be a normal reaction to your body gearing up to ovulate and/or menstruate again.

Regardless, I really think you should see a health care provider to put your mind at ease about all of this. Maybe after speaking to someone on Monday you will feel more relaxed.
#3 of 6 Old 01-02-2004, 12:56 PM