Velamentous insertion of the umbilical cord. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-06-2009, 02:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hi i am 24 weeks and 3 day's pregnant and i was told by my doctor that i when i had my ultrasound that my baby umbilical cord is on the side of the placenta witch is call. Velamentous insertion of the umbilical cord. and i just want to know if it is okay to work i work in a warehouse that is so hot i am a restocker and have to left up to 70 pound. will i be okay and am i putting my baby at rick.

MR$ $EXY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2009, 03:12 AM

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
This seems like something you should talk with your medical provider about. Lifting up to 70lbs is more than I think any pregnant person should lift. Everything gets so soft and flexible when you're pregnant that it's really easy to hurt yourself or your baby..

My friend had a Velamentous insertion with her son and he was perfectly fine. However, she stopped working at 25 weeks and took it pretty easy..

Abra, Married to George, Mother to DS 12/03 & DD1 08/09 & DD2 12/11 + Someone New in May 2015! After years of planning, we are finally living our dream in South America!!
Old 07-06-2009, 09:39 AM

I agree. Talk to your doctor. Did they say where your placenta is? Is it low or high, where does it insert - in the top, side, bottom, etc.?

Do more research on this and if you need to get a second opinion.

I had VCI and vasa previa - wasn't diagnosed and the cord vessels tore during delivery last August. My son lost most of his blood before he could be born and he died 12 hours later.

This can be a serious condition or it can just be an unusual finding on the placenta. It's worth finding out more about where it is exactly and what the risks are.

Best wishes! I'm glad they diagnosed you early in case you do need closer monitoring.
Old 07-06-2009, 10:48 AM