weird tingly/ nervy feelings in hands - 3rd trimester - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 02-27-2010, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is a newer complaint. I'm almost 35 weeks, and just in the past few days I've noticed my hands doing something weird. Occasionally when I pick something up, or bend my wrist (on either hand) in a certain way, I feel a strange sensation throughout my wrists and hands and fingers - almost like I'm getting a tiny electric shock! I may not be describing it very well, because it's not really like anything I've had before.
They've also been going all numb and tingly and totally asleep when I'm sleeping at night - some nights I have to wake up 2-3 times to shake them awake. And after a shoot yesterday (I'm a photographer), I noticed some weird pains up and down my forearms and elbow area this morning - I think just sore muscles, but different feelings and places than I've had when not pregnant.
I'm not too worried about it, because the swelling I have had in my hands and feet/ ankles seems to fall under the normal category. Could this be a strange kind of carpal tunnel or other problem just due to regular pregnancy swelling? I'm not due to see my midwife for another week and a half and just want to make sure this is nothing out of the ordinary.
#2 of 12 Old 02-27-2010, 07:48 PM

It does sound like it could be carpal tunnel but I would get it checked out.
#3 of 12 Old 02-27-2010, 09:43 PM

Could be carpel tunnel constriction (a common late pregnancy thing)
But
It could also be a symptom of high blood pressure and or pre-eclampsia (both of which can show up suddenly and advance rapidly. I would call your provider to check it out.