Safe ways to de-stress during pregnancy? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-23-2010, 12:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I could really use some ideas to safely deal with high amounts of stress, its affecting my ability to eat and sleep1

thanks all!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-23-2010, 01:58 AM

Acupuncture has really helped me through this pregnancy, both for stress and any physical things that have come up. I always feel calmer and better grounded afterwards and it's helped with allergies and I other things I don't want to take meds for. My city has several excellent community acupuncture clinics, so it's affordable for me (starting at $15). Massage is great, too (I'm a massage therapist so I might be biased). Weekly pre-natal yoga classes help get me out of my head.

A few herbal books mention motherwort tincture as safe for later pregnancy for stress (Susan Weed says 5 drops, another book up to 20 drops 3x/ day).
Old 05-23-2010, 09:27 AM

I go for a long walk by the water to ease stress. Not high tech, and a bit time-consuming, but at least it's healthy!

If you don't have a nice place to walk, there's always yoga etc. I think exercise, sleep, and drinking lots of water/fluid is the place to start, then if you're still stressed try accupuncture, herbs, talk therapy, etc.
Old 05-23-2010, 10:26 AM

I highly recommend Hypnobabies even if you aren't using it for childbirth. They offer a free MP3 download called "Relax Me" at http://www.hypnobabies.com/mylink.ph...58#relaxmehypo I find listening to a disc to be very relaxing and stress-removing.

I also like Rescue Remedy.

Bubble baths are my go-to for everything that ails me.

Good luck, hon!

Catholic homeschooling mom of two daughters and four sons... baby Mark born on 8/27/10. Kidney Disease Awareness
Old 05-23-2010, 10:33 AM