Are there any safe antidepressants during pregnancy? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 09-29-2010, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I normally don't post a lot of personal information on here, but this situation is rather critical (and largely out of my control). My brother's girlfriend has had a very rough year and a half with a trauma which resulted in her being treated by an incompetent doctor who prescribed her antidepressants and didn't monitor them. We believe that these meds are responsible for some recent volatile mood swings which resulted in her voluntarily admitting herself this week to a mental health facility because she was feeling suicidal. She has been off the pill for several months now because another doctor believed that her hormones were being thrown out of whack. She was put on the patch (don't really know much about it because I have very little experience with chemical birth control), but as I understand it, it's very unreliable.

So, this week, the facility that she went to (not a good choice -- they gave her detox meds right away before finding out anything about her or her situation), discovered that she's about 5 wks. pregnant. She has since been relocated to a much better facility with a neonatal unit, and they've slowed down the talk about abortion (which they were trying to force her into despite the fact that she and my brother very much want to avoid that if at all possible), and have begun to talk about outpatient treatment options (for depression and anxiety). She currently is not taking anything (hasn't been for about 5 days now), and already is calmer, happier and more like her "normal" self. She is currently listed as an "involuntary admittance" because of the incompetence of the last facility (a nurse at which gave her a phone number and told her to sue said facility).