How late is too late to switch providers/hire a doula? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 09-30-2010, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I guess my title says it all. But to reiterate, two part question:

How late is it too late to switch providers?

How late is generally too late to find a doula?

TIA!

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 21 Old 09-30-2010, 06:12 PM

I had a friend who switched from her OB to a CNM at 40+ weeks because the OB was pressuring her so heavily to induce that she was about to have a breakdown. A week later she went into spontaneous labor and delivered more or less naturally with the midwife.

The moral of the story is, it's never too late to get the birth you want... even if that means switching providers after your due date has come and gone.

Of course, as with everything, the earlier the better because you want to spend some time getting to know the professional(s) who will be at your birth. But I think there's no such thing as "too late."

I'm traveling the world with my kids without ever leaving home and blogging about it -- watch, taste, and share our adventures at TheGlobalStayCation.com!
#3 of 21 Old 09-30-2010, 06:21 PM

I switched at 37 weeks, maybe it was 38? I can't remember all of a sudden.

After several bad experiences I was questioning my OB, but when I had to go to the ER late in the pregnancy and was treated like cr@p by the hospital staff and nurses, I knew I had to get out. I was about 37 weeks when I saw my new doctor for the first time and I think it was the best decision I could have made.