Would you tell a prospective employer that you are pregnant? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-09-2010, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am 11+ weeks pregnant and am looking for an easy, part-time job (like retail or something like that).  I am a nurse by trade but do not want to work in that field anymore and am not ready to start a "real" career search just yet.  We could use a few extra dollars so I thought I would try the stores by my house and see what happens.

At what point would you tell a prospective employer that you are pregnant?  Yes, I understand that legally they cannot discriminate against me because of it but I have worked retail management and I know there are a lot of ways to get around the legalities of something like this.

Would you tell at the interview?  When/if they call to make an offer? Or would you wait and not say anything until you were showing?

hh2.gif Proud Mama to DS1 09/07 ribboncesarean.gif, DD 07/09 hbac.gif, and DS2 06/11 uc.jpg.  Feeling more and more blessed with each day!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-09-2010, 01:50 PM

I would not say anything.  Once you are hired and been there a while, you could just call up HR and see what you need to do to take a leave of absence while you have the baby.  If you were showing, you would need to address it, but otherwise, I would keep it quite.

winner.jpg, cloth diapering, babywearing, AP mama to Aiden (10/04/07) and Rylan (12/20/10)  hbac.gif
Old 12-09-2010, 02:07 PM

I vote for option 3, not until you're showing.  If you're planning to work during your pregnancy there's really no need for them to know sooner and it opens the door for discrimination.

Old 12-09-2010, 03:03 PM