Early pregnancy diarrhea (celiac) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 05-11-2011, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I was diagnosed with Celiac in Dec.  I was gluten free for several months before that, and then did a gluten challenge to get the official dx.  Anyways, since then it has been a slow recovery.  Kind of two steps forward, one step back.  My major issues were with diarrhea, and that is an ongoing problem.  I kind of have a good week, and then get hit with a couple bad days.  However, my energy levels are way improved and my iron has recovered (ferritin 4 in Dec, 20 in Mar).

Anyways, I am happily 4 weeks pregnant!  And today has been a disaster!  Yesterday too.  I've been running to the bathroom 4 times with D.  Not good.  Otherwise, I'm feeling great.  Good energy.

I try to eat all whole foods.  Meat, eggs, veg, fruit, nuts.  Occasional grains (experimented a bit with grain-free, but I like bits here and there).  Lots of raw fruit and veg though, as I like easy snacks (I have a 2 year old).  I am obviously gluten free, but also dairy-free and soy-free.

I am taking a prenatal vitamin, fish oil capsules, vitamin D.

Should I be concerned?  From a celiac standpoint?  Or could this regression be a pregnancy thing?  Anything else I can take to help?  Or eat to help?  I was wondering about a probiotic or a digestive enzyme?  Anyone experienced anything similar?

#2 of 5 Old 05-11-2011, 10:53 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Congratulations on your pregnancy! 

Just so I understand... you did a gluten challenge to confirm your celiac diagnosis. Does this mean that you ate gluten so that your GI doc could perform an endoscopy and get accurate results? That is very important.