Orgasm during childbirth??? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 100 Old 12-30-2011, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi ladies. I'm not sure where to post this, but it's been driving me crazy and I need answers. My sister is halfway through her first pregnancy and has chosen to give birth at a birthing center. I checked the place out (gotta look out for my baby sis!) and I honestly like it; everyone is really nice and its very clean. However, I don't like my sisters midwife--she's making me question my sanity :). Recently she's encouraged my sister to watch Orgasmic Birth and now has been pushing this idea of having an orgasm during childbirth. I was a CNA during college, so I have some medical knowledge (it's been 11 years since I've graduated and left that field, so maybe my knowledge is dated :)) and I have never heard of this. When I tried to research the topic I could only find articles written about this AFTER the movie/documentary came out. I can't seem to get a consistent answer when the orgasm is supposed to occur. I read as the baby crowns, then I read as the baby is sliding down the birth canal. I just don't understand. I guess it just seems a little perverted to me. You have to be in a certain state of mind to achieve an orgasm-- and that's not a state of mind I was in (or would want to be in for that matter) when I was giving birth :). My sister is back and forth on the issue. At one point she seriously considered a hospital birth (my sister is deathly terrified of hospitals), because she found her midwifes thinking a little out there. The midwife assured her it was common and natural and would (obviously) only be felt by women giving birth drug free, so most OB-GYN's don't mention it to their patients. I'm a little afraid to speak up about how crazy I think this sounds. Like I said before, I do have some medical knowledge, but at the same time I was never a nurse or anything important and my care