Pregnancy symptoms while on progesterone - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is my 5th pregnancy.  When I had a bloodtest at 22dpo, my progesterone came back at 15.  I've never had low progesterone before, ever.  I never spot, I have 14/15 day luteal phases, etc.  Although I am nursing a 13 months and my cycles are a few days longer than normal.  So since I'm 40 and have had a mc before my midwife put me on crinone.  (yuck).

Anyways, I'm wondering - which pregnancy symptoms are caused by the progesterone and which are caused by the actual pregnancy?  I feel pretty horrible (MS, exhausted, etc) but I think all of those are caused from progesterone?  I'm pretty new to progesterone therapy but I'm hoping there are a few symptoms that are caused more by hcg then progesterone.

I just need something to hold on to that lets me know that the pregnancy is doing OK for now.  Having had a missed MC, I hate feeling so in the dark...

Thanks in advance.

Michelle

Michelle ~
Mama to ~ Finnegan(10/06) ~ Samuel (7/08) ~ Henry (2/11) ~ He's here! joy.gif Baxter (11/12)

#2 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 02:02 PM

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)

Did they just do one progesterone test?  My understanding is that progesterone spikes and plummets throughout the day, so one single test is likely to be wildly inaccurate.  I had a prog test done and was told it was so low that I hadn't ovulated, and that was the month I conceived.  My doc didn't put me on any progesterone at all because she said the tests are quite inaccurate because they only measure the level at one particular point during the day.  I'm not really answering your question, I know, it just seems odd to prescribe it after one test if that's the only symptom you have.

Beautiful baby girl born 8/13/2012. Little star baby lost at 10 weeks pregnant, 12/18/2013. Currently due 12/13/2014 with a rainbow.