Hypnobirthing class or Hypnobabies home study course? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 06-04-2012, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I was hoping to take a Hypnobabies class but none of the teachers in my area offer one that will finish before our due date. :( I have found a Hypnobirthing class that is offered with time to spare though. For those of you that have researched or used both methods, which do you think would be more beneficial- the in-person Hypnobirthing class or the at home Hypnobabies class? Thanks for your help!

#2 of 5 Old 06-06-2012, 01:06 PM

As a HypnoBirthing practitioner, I totally recommend HypnoBirthing rather than self-taught HypnoBabies.  Many couples choose HypnoBabies because of the lower cost and the ease of not having to go to a class at some location at a certain time.  Making time for the 2 1/2 hour sessions can be stressful.  And the cost is quite a bit more.  But I can just about guarantee you that on-site learning with a certified professional demonstrating the techniques, explaining the rationale and how to do the techniques is far superior to DIYing.  It's like the difference between getting a massage from a massage therapist vs.  massaging an area yourself.  You may be able to do it, but it just isn't as effective.  And regarding the cost:  compare the cost of HypnoBirthing to the cost of an epidural.  HypnoBirthing is worth every penny you invest.  Give it a try.  If your goal is to have a comfortable, peaceful birth, go with HypnoBirthing--in a class.  (HypnoBirthing Institute also offers the course as a DIY program--same program but without the practitioner providing live demonstration.  It's the same cost, if I remember correctly, but the difference is the effectiveness of live instruction.)  Some couples, however, do not have access to classes.  Either DIY method--HypnoBirthing or HypnoBabies--will prepare you well for birth, but an on-site class is far more