husband is extremely depressed about unplanned pregnancy...and I am not sure what to do - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 09-09-2012, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm brand new to this site, but my best friend just recommended it to me, and as I am trying to deal with an issue I have no experience with (but many of you might) I thought I would throw out a question that I am really struggling with (and I apologize ahead of time for the very long post). I had a positive pregnancy test last Tuesday (5 days ago) after two weeks of feeling quite horrible. I suspected I might be pregnant, but it wouldn't be the first pregnancy scare this year even, so I didn't mention my suspicion to my husband. He and I were about equally stunned at the positive test. this was completely and entirely unplanned--I was on an oral contraceptive--but I want to keep the baby (I've been taking women's vitamins for months, haven't been drinking for the past month b/c the nausea, so I'm hoping it's set up OK). We've been together for 8 years, and one of the things we agreed upon when we started our relationship (we had been friends for two years first), was that neither of us wanted kids. This changed completely for me when I fell in love with him (180 degrees) and has intensified over the past few years to where I think about having children 10-20 times a day on any given day. He is aware of this. My husband has recently softened on the subject, and over the past year has started mentioning having kids (he, unfortunately, seems to be incapable of having serious conversations about serious topics, so we have only been able to talk about the subject indirectly). However, he made it clear on Wednesday, when we sat down and talked, that he wanted me to terminate the pregnancy (but "wouldn't ask me to do so unless I wanted to"). His reasons: money, being selfish (his word) of his personal time, that it would 'destroy' our lives an