Manual Labor and Pregnancy Suggestions - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-20-2012, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I work in a warehouse, and some of the stuff I have to move is pretty heavy (I was in a section with the lighter stuff, and the largest thing I had to pick was 60 pounds). I gave them the confirmation of pregnancy, and they said they don't need it, and won't modify my duties until/unless I have a note from the doctor restricting me from lifting or whatever. My question is if anyone has any suggestions on how to make lifting easier/not so painful, and how to deal with the fatigue from such demanding work. I've been trying to set up an appointment, but I feel like I'm getting the run around on trying to get an appointment.

sleeping.gifMama to DD dust.gif(12.2005), DS1 sleepytime.gif (01.2009), DS2 babyboy.gif (04.28.2013) with DH heartbeat.gif04.10.13!!heartbeat.gif namaste.gif

#2 of 8 Old 09-21-2012, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter

I guess not. Oh well, I tried.

sleeping.gifMama to DD dust.gif(12.2005), DS1 sleepytime.gif (01.2009), DS2 babyboy.gif (04.28.2013) with DH heartbeat.gif04.10.13!!heartbeat.gif namaste.gif

#3 of 8 Old 09-21-2012, 03:48 PM

I don't have any personal experience with this, but I would get your health care provider to write you a note. I don't think I personally could do much heavy lifting, and you certainly don't want to pull any muscles, ligaments get much looser during pregnancy. I know when I have to haul 30 or 40 pounds of laundry down two flights to my basement it's tiring, I end up throwing and rolling the laundry bag down the stairs.  If you feel like it's too much, I would contact your Dr. How far along are you?

#4 of 8 Old 09-21-2012, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter