If this is your third baby... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-09-2013, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

...did you notice any differences this time around, emotionally and/or physically?

-Showing sooner, or not?

-Feeling movement sooner, or wondering why you aren't feeling movement yet?

-More relaxed about being in labor, or more stressed?

-Worried about three kids, or thinking "aw, I'm a pro at this parenting thing now - three is no big deal!"

Just curious, ladies!

I will be 18 weeks along on Monday 3/12 and I just look like I have a chubby tummy and I don't think I feel any movement yet. I heard that moms typically show sooner with their third, fourth, fifth, etc baby. Not me! I'm sort of disappointed about that. Also, the lack of baby kicking is driving me CRAZY! I had an appointment last Monday and everything checked out fine.

Regarding labor...I'm actually a bit nervous this time around! With my first DD I took a class, felt empowered, and handled my labor pretty well. Second DD I was an anxious mess! I started labor in the middle of my work shift and things progressed VERY quickly. I did not feel in control and begged for a walking epidural before I was even done with the pre-admit checkup. I don't want this third labor to be like the second WHATSOEVER. I am definitely going to take a class again, will look into trying a water birth this time, and may even hire a doula. I want to be completely prepared and confident.

I'm not worried about three kids, and am actually pretty excited! My oldest DD is 5 1/2 and she understands so much more than when I was pregnant with her sister. I think she will be an awesome helper!

#2 of 6 Old 03-09-2013, 02:36 PM

My 3rd pg definitely felt like my "wild card", but it also ended up being a boy, and a MUCH larger baby to boot! (My first two were 7lb girls with 13" heads. my son was just under 10lbs with a 15.5" head...big difference!)