Tandem Breastfeeding anyone? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-17-2013, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

My almost 3 year old daughter weaned at the end of my first trimester on her own. I was both grateful and sad to see her end, yet my breasts were also quite sore with pregnancy.  Then at the start of my third trimester she looked at my breasts, smelt them carefully, and proclaimed "milk!". She tried to suck and amazingly my milk had returned. However, she had forgotten how to suck in the three months since she stopped breast-feeding, yet she relearned in a few weeks. Now she is asking to breast-feed a lot. I allow it doubt 4-5 times a day. 

What have other mamas experiences been? Is anyone planning to tantum feed?  I have no previous experience with it, and I am wondering if anyone has any tips on how to make it successful and not too overwhelming. My hope is that it may encourage positive sibling relationships - has this been anyone's experience?

Thank-you!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-17-2013, 09:08 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Too funny, SP!  I was just looking to post somewhere about tips or advice for tandem BFing!

DS is 32 months, I am 33wks and planning to tandem.  He has been even more interested in BFing lately, since my colostrum came in. (it's pretty cute actually.  A few weeks ago I asked him if there was any moot (his name for my milk) when he nursed and he said yes.  I asked him what it tastes like, and he got a big grin on his face and said "like chocolate and candy!" lol).

Anyway, I have no idea about tandem nursing, but plan to give it a try.  I believe that you are supposed to let the nb nurse first, at least until your milk comes in.  I actually had over-production and a crazy let-down last time, so I think having a toddler who nurses around could help make nursing for the nb easier!