My first pregnancy, excited, but feeling scared and overwhelmed. Help please. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 04-12-2013, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

This is my first pregnancy and I keep finding myself overwhelmed.  I have mitral valve prolapse with a small amount of regurgitation and tachycardia which cause me to be tired,dizzy and out of breath a lot. This makes exercise, which I know is important to help with labor, pretty much impossible. I really want a natural and drug free birth, but I'm terrified of the pain and of things going wrong. I'm worried about literally everything, but mostly finances, labor and just taking care of a baby.

I'm tired all day, then at night I can't sleep.  When I do, I normally have bad nightmares that wear me out. I hate feeling like everything is out of my control.

I already feel overwhelming love and care for my baby, but I'm worried because I have no experience with newborns.

So here are a few random questions I have:

Any advice or tips for first time pregnancies/moms with no experience?

I'm 11 weeks. Is it too early to talk to a midwife?

Any tips for staying calm and sleeping well?

I'm drinking one cup a day of Woman's Mother To Be Tea by Yogi. Is that enough raspberry leaf or do I need more?

Do any of you have bothersome mitral valve prolapse or tachycardia, but still had a good natural birth?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!

#2 of 10 Old 04-12-2013, 05:15 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hug.gif I dont have experience with the tea or those conditions but I want to send you lots of calm thoughts and support.