Vegan morning sickness...I can't manage beans! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 07-25-2014, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Vegan morning sickness...I can't manage beans!

I've been joyfully vegan for years now - although in the past few months I've had to add eggs back due to a food sensitivity elimination diet that left me with almost nothing to eat. I lost so much weight that I'm still eating eggs now to try to help get it back. So I guess I'm not technically vegan anymore, which is a real bummer for me.

The bigger bummer is that ever since I got pregnant I can't seem to eat beans. Tofu is OK, but even sprouted lentils make me bloat up like a balloon and feel terribly uncomfortable - and the gas pain makes my morning sickness just feel worse. Beans have always bloated me to a degree, but it's way worse now.

So I have two questions:

1. I know bloating is a common first trimester symptom. Does it really go away for the rest of the pregnancy, or am I doomed to be this uncomfortable (or have to find an alternative to beans) for months?

2. I've never tried beano. Has anyone used it during pregnancy, and did you find that it worked?

I really don't want to be stuck eating tofu all the time, although I'm not concerned about a serving a day, which is what I'm sticking to for now. And of course eggs are a good source of protein, but I already eat them daily - sometimes twice a day - and that's more than enough for me. I don't think I can add meat. It doesn't sound good to me at all right now. If anyone has any advice, I'd love it!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 9 Old 07-25-2014, 09:15 AM

Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)