jazzercise safe during pregnancy?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-23-2004, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jazzercise, an aerobics type work out, is very convenient to my home. i've never done it before. i don't mind staying in the back and going at my own pace, not allowing myself to get too winded. my edd is 02/25/05.
anyone familiar with jazzercise and see any reason i shouldn't enroll in the classes as long as i take things at my own pace?
#2 of 8 Old 09-23-2004, 08:05 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I would think it would be ok, as long as you listened to your body, stayed well hydrated and increased your calories to make up for the added energy output. Also, it's important to watch your heart rate - you want to try to keep it below 120.

Really listen to your body. If anything feels painful or uncomfortable, stop. March in place or something else.

#3 of 8 Old 09-24-2004, 07:48 PM

I used to do Jazzercise, and it would be a GREAT pregnancy thing. The program always includes a low-impact option for every single step / exercise, and you regularly monitor your heartrate, etc. Lots of encouragement for staying hydrated, too. I miss it-- it was really fun, MUCH better than going to the gym.
#4 of 8 Old 09-25-2004, 11:47 AM

i've seen a variety of opinions on HR - so i'm a fan of just listening to your body - make sure you're drinking enough, not sweating up a storm, and not out of breath - you should be able to carry on a conversation while exercising. sometimes i can get my HR between 140-145 under these conditions, other times i get BH contractions if i'm going over 120 - depends on the day, and the stage of pregnancy i've been at.

if you do the low impact versions, and are willing to take a break at some points if things are too intense for you, you should be fine!

Rosemary & Gary :
James 12/04 & Cecelia 4/07
#5 of 8 Old 09-25-2004, 05:07 PM

I thought 140 is the max, did it change to 120 BPM now?