Question for those who kept their maiden name - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 28 Old 10-19-2002, 12:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did anyone else keep their madien name? If so, what last name do you give your children? A hyphenated version of both, just your husband's or just your last name?

I didn't want to change my last name. For a number of reasons, really. My family is very small and our last name is uncommon. I am an established professional under my madien name. The house in my name (had it before I got married), as are all our vehicles, our insurances, my professional licenses, all our bank accounts, credit cards, loans, etc... Would be so much trouble to change all those things. And I just didn't feel like giving up a name I've been using for my entire life up until I got married. Something inside me still thinks it is odd that women should have to give up their names, part of their individuality, when they marry a man. I get annoyed when I cannot look up old friends because they have changed their name! On the other hand, I do always find it odd when people's kids have different last names than they do. So this results in a conflict for me. I'm not sure what to do about my child's last name. Do I just give in and change my name anyways to just be "normal"?

On a funny side note the phone company decided to list my phone number twice in the phone book....once with my first and last name and the second listing is my husband's first name and MY last name! He even gets junk mail addressed to that name. Maybe he ought to change his name...you think? :LOL

Karen Mommy of McKenna 2003 & Alysson 2004 homebirth.jpg Expecting stork-girl.gif an early Christmas Present
#2 of 28 Old 10-19-2002, 03:51 AM
Banned

I kept my maiden name. Our children have my husband's last name--no hyphen.

Sometimes people mistake me for a single mother, but that's ok.
#3 of 28 Old 10-19-2002, 09:10 AM